Fitness, Health

Color Me Rad 5k

color me rad

An explosive adventure of being attacked.  By color bombs!

So first off, a 5k is about 3.1 miles.  A Color Me Rad 5k is 3.1 miles of becoming the most colorful person you can be. Quite literally.  That is if you can survive paint bombs and other such like crazy occurrences of course.  But you should be warned… try not to smile or laugh too much.  You wouldn’t want to have too much fun.

This particular 5k categorizes itself as laid-back, fun, and inspiring.  You aren’t running for a title.  You aren’t running to win.  You aren’t running against a clock.  You are simply running for the pure enjoyment of getting paint splattered all over you.  You’re running to laugh!  To get down and dirty, and to do something you’d never even dream of doing.  It’s called spontaneity people.  Something I see myself lacking in.  Others as well.  Why do we always get stuck in comfort zones we create for ourselves?  Why don’t we explore the things of this wonderful world we’ve been put on? I can’t answer these questions for you.  But for me, I simply just never thought to.

Explore [verb]. Travel in or through in order to learn about or familiarize oneself with it.  I don’t explore enough.  Do you?  I know I definitely read enough of those corny romance books.  I can’t remember the last time I picked up something different.  Knowledge is out there just waiting to be put to the test by our intricately woven brains!  Sometimes I just can’t wait to invent something.  Then I remember that I have absolutely no clue as to what I’d be doing.  So nothing gets invented.  But why do I stop there?  Why not bring it one step further?  So back on track, why not take yourself out of your everyday norms and DO something different?  Not just talk about it.

This year will be my first 5k.  And to be honest, I’m deathly afraid.  But fear is good.  I won’t let it squash me like I do to the spiders I find in my bedroom.  I definitely won’t let it keep me from running those 3.1 miles.  Anyone who knows me personally will know that I am a horrible runner.  Within the first mile, I get all red-faced and start huffing and puffing just as bad as the big bad wolf in the three little pigs story my mom would always read to me as a kid.  Yeah, it really is that bad.  I can only hope that my face looks as good as the people in the photos on the Color Me Rad’s website.  Probably not, but oh well.  Basically the gist of it is, don’t let anything stop you.

This run is about inspiration.  You know that feeling?  When you just can’t wait to be different or do something amazing!  To be the epitome of a great and grand change? Okay yeah.  Blah, blah, and more blah.  Over the years, I’ve come to realize inspiration is within me.  It is a gift from God put inside us all!  It’s not just trying to be better.  It’s more than that.  Inspiration contains desire.  With desire, you can run those 3.1 miles.  And you can have a blast running for once in your life!  Or twice if you’re really crazy.

The Color Me Rad 5k is all over the U.S.  But let’s be honest, we’re really only concerned about Grand Rapids since we all know that West Michigan is the bomb!  This year the 5k is scheduled to be in June.  It better not rain!  Knock on wood.  The run works like this…

“You’ll start off with a shirt as pure and white as your granddaddy’s dentures, and throughout the run, we’ll coat your chaffing thighs with Color Bombs of blue, green, pink, purple, and yellow until you come out like a tie-dyed hippy on the other side.”

Dare to be rad to the bone!

http://www.colormerad.com

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

http://www.active.com/running/articles/how-to-run-your-first-5k

Leave a Reply

